Contemplations and Transitions

I just need a space to think for a moment.

In the last 3 months or so we have paid off $101,150.21 in student loans; not including our standard payments. This is an amazing amount to pay off in such a short period, but it isn’t because we worked hard, or something like that. It is from the inheritance that my aunt and uncle left me after they passed away. I am eternally and forever grateful for this gift. But every single day I would chose their presence over being able to pay off those debts.

Work is fine. I love my job, but I don’t love my job. There is a very real and apparent love hate struggle going on before me. I don’t know what to do about it but part of that is why this post exists. Allowing me to get my thoughts out. To give some contemplation in a free handed expression to hopefully sort out a few things.

I will post this disclaimer before you get too far into my ramblings. I am ill. I feel like absolute garbage today, and am a little medicated. You have been warned.

So, yeah. I love my job, but I really do have an inner struggle with real world application for what I am required to teach, the emphasis on testing and then the whole “inch deep mile wide” philosophy that comes with testing. Basically, for the non teachers reading this, often times we are left chugging through material, quickly, grazing just the surface and then moving on to the next topic. Students don’t get a chance to dive deep into topics they find interesting because the test is looming in the distance and we need to be prepared for that.

My husband and I have been talking about what we want to do. We both love video games. We have contemplated streaming and/or making a YouTube channel. I want to do that.

My husband has been working on a book. I think it would be great for him to work on that a little more.

I miss blogging. But our debt free journey is coming to a close. But, that is also why I use the name With Love, Wanderlust and not something specific to a debt free journey.

I have some ideas for what I want to do here. I just need to start actualizing them. Making a road map. Etc.

I /need/ to get back into shape. I reached out to a coach today, but I need to see his prices before I know if I can commit to that. Because, damn, coaches can be expensive as all get out. But, I need to take care of me. Me, feels it. Me isn’t happy. Oh, grammar.

My head is pounding. We are finishing up the last load of laundry before we head out to Waikiki for the weekend. Hopefully a restorative weekend is in store. I need it, that is for sure.

Leave a Reply

