Random Thoughts and Ramblings

Hey guys and gals,

I have my interview today for the state of Hawaii Department of Education. Monday I have another interview with a agency that does substitute teaching for charter schools. I started the process for substituting for the state as well. Just, haven’t heard anything back at this point for the latter.

I am really leaning towards subbing. I want to work on my masters so that when we move I am able to jump right into the field of education I am super interested in.

But then I am stuck between goals as well.

When we start our family I want to stay home until our child is in school and then re-enter the workforce. Right now the time frame we would like to reproduce is the same time frame in which I would complete my masters, my husband would start his.

This. This has been the hardest part of being an adult for me.

Finding the balance that will work for my sanity, my husband, our impending family and what I want to accomplish within my career field.

When I think about and try and figure out all of this I get overwhelmed. I get anxious. I really don’t know what to do.

I won’t be taking out loans for my masters. That is a fact. So, I won’t be applying/starting that until next semester or school year. Which is a-okay with me.

Shoot, even that really takes some massive considerations.

If I do my masters through my Alma mater, which I can, I can complete all masters work online and take up to 9 credit hours at BYU that would transfer for the license part of the content.

I don’t know. I feel like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place.

How do/did you find work/home balance?

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts and Ramblings

  1. In my case both my husband and I worked. He stayed home during the days with our kids. He had 2 part-time jobs and a home-based business for 7 years while he was the daytime parent. I took over in the evenings and weekends. When we needed to augment, he dropped one part-time job, then when the kids got older, he worked nights and I worked days. Now we homeschool our kids that are in Middle and High School, we use a nanny and have flexible work schedules. I advised my daughters to select careers that offered them the opportunity for flexible schedule, work from home opportunities and an easy transition back to it. Open your mind and be flexible and you will easily be able to support your family and have a family. I did it with my husband and four kids, so you can too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess, part of my current struggle, is we are moving again in about two years. I love teaching, but it is so very demanding. My interview here in a bit is for full time, Monday I have an interview for substituting which has a far greater appeal due to the flexibility. I really love subbing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

