November 2015 Budget Update

November Budget Update

November was a pretty good month. It is going to be a bit of a pain for me to type all this up, since about two week before the end of the month I was able to start beta testing the nYNAB. So exciting!

Let us jump right in!

Groceries: $528.99.
A little higher than we would like to spend. We aim for $450. I didn’t really account for Thanksgiving dinner and a few small social events that we participated in.

Eating Out: $83.18.
We went out to a lovely steak restaurant for our anniversary and ordered out pizza one night.

Internet: $45.90.
Standard. Boring. This is just what our internet costs.

Renters Insurance: $25.84. 
We just purchased our policy this month, so this was the initial premium.

Home goods: $15. 
We bought some candles for the holiday season.

Pets: $33.09.
Pet food, treats, the usual stuff to sustain our little monsters.

Gas: $42.62.
This is fuel that gets me to and from work. We have been blessed with cheap gas, and my car gets great mileage.

Cell Phone: $110.
This is our portion of the cell phone bill. We are okay with it for how great our service and support is with moving so much.

Personal Care: $12.76
I had strep and an cyst this month, so this was the cost of prescriptions.

Hulu: $8.49.
It costs that much. Cheaper than cable.

Birchbox: $10
Monthly sub.

Dollar Shave Club: $9
I enjoy getting this. The razors are better than what I’ve gotten at the store and are cheaper than the ones at the store that I do like.

Fun Money: $148.04
Mr. Wanderlust wanted a new game, so we budgeted for that. I bought Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 on steam for a few bucks. I bought my planner for next year. We also purchased a subscription to a meal planning service for $19. Mr. Wanderlust and I rented a movie for our anniversary as well. We don’t usually spend this much by any means.

Work: $5.99
Subscription fee for instant notification of available jobs.

Gifts: $308.89
We started our Christmas shopping. We bought Mr. Wanderlust’s mother a desk planter shaped like a pig. A drink mixing thing for his dad. Made my mom a crochet bundle present. Mr. Wanderlust, himself, got his Xbox live sub renewed. Which we didn’t know about, but now that is a budget category so we won’t miss it again! I also got some clothes for Christmas. We have a couple more gifts to get but they will be on next months.

—-

This month we had some higher than usual categories. The plus side, is that it was all budgeted for, meaning we didn’t go negative.

I do not include debt payments, because that goes in a different post. Nor do I include our rainy day funds. I only include categories that are spent from when I type this up each month.

Leave a Reply

