First Thanksgiving Without Family

First Thanksgiving

My husband and I have been together for four years now. The first year we were together we didn’t do Thanksgiving together, we had really just started to see each other. Our second Thanksgiving we did both of our families. If I remember correctly, my family celebrated on a different day because we couldn’t coordinate days off. We also celebrated with his family. That is the year he asked my father if he could have my hand in marriage. I have a picture next to me of us at my Aunt’s house, the last Thanksgiving we celebrated at her house before she and her husband passed away this summer. Our third year we hosted, at the strong suggestion of my husband. He was adamant that we do so. Turns out, he had a plan to propose up his sleeve. His grandparents surprised everyone, including Mr. Wanderlust, by showing up right before we sat down to dinner. Then last year, the fourth year, we hosted a small Thanksgiving for family that wanted to come, prior to our wedding the following day. We ended up with so much food it was crazy. I made turkey, mashed potatoes, and a few other things. My soon to be father in law stopped at KFC and bought chicken and at the grocery for some pies and other fixings. (They drove to Ohio from Florida that day). We had family coming and going all day, trying to stay out of my hair as I finished things up for the wedding. It was a chill but good day.

So, for Mr. Wanderlust and I, Thanksgiving has been a pretty big deal to us each year. We both love getting together with our families and spending time together just enjoying company. It is one of the few holidays where something isn’t expected, as far as gifts. It’s a holiday about food and being grateful for all that is in your life.

This year, we are celebrating, just the two of us. I’m making a small dinner, and we are just going to relax and enjoy the company of one another. We also will be calling family to talk to them as well!

For my family, this years Thanksgiving is hard. My parents, grandparents and my dads oldest sister always get together. My Aunt, his oldest sister, passed away this summer. After Thanksgiving dinner we drew names for secret Santa. This year they aren’t doing that. It’s the first big holiday, for my family, since she and her husband passed. It’s going to be rough for my dad and grandparents for sure. This holiday season, in general, will be hard for them.

I do want to find a Thanksgiving tradition to start with Mr. Wanderlust and I. I’ll let you know if we do!

The tradition that carries over for me is putting up the tree the day after Thanksgiving. I am looking forward to that.

**I will apologize for the flow of this post. Talking about the loss of my aunt and uncle is still very difficult for me. My uncle passed away at the start of May 2015 and my aunt passed about two weeks later. Both were very unexpected and not very planned for losses. They both died tragically in unrelated circumstances. It was just a very emotional time, and is the closest to me death I’ve had in a long time.

Leave a Reply

