Cross Country Travels: The Saga Part 3; Back to Ohio

Happy Monday Y’all. I hope your week goes well!

So, the trip back to Ohio from Texas was an interesting one, to say the least. I drove up through Arkansas to Tennessee followed by Kentucky into Ohio. The drive was very pretty, but ever so boring. There isn’t a ton to say about this trip other than a few brief stories.

I felt like it took forever to get out of Texas. You can drive the length of Ohio in 5 or 6 hours. It took me that long just to get to the Dallas area. Arkansas looks like Texas, just more green. When I got to Tennessee that is where my first story happens. I found this to be amusing and entertaining. We’ve all heard the stories of rednecks, no matter the state, it would seem. Well, as soon as I crossed the state border there was a party of, around 6 or so, people riding ATV’s on the side of the highway. They were decked out in camo, just cruising along. I found it hysterical. At this point I had driven for around 8 hours, which may have had more to do with it than anything.

I drove past all the Loretta Lynn stuff as well. If you don’t know who she is do a quick Google, or watch Cole Miners Daughter. Good movie. I found it absolutely funny that there was a place called Loretta Lynn’s Kitchen. If you have seen the movie about her it is rumored that she couldn’t cook a lick. So the fact that she would have a restaurant named after her was giggle worthy to me.

Lastly, Where I stopped for the night in Tennessee, I was recommended a local joint for dinner. But it was closed so I went to the Waffle House next door and ordered myself some biscuits and gravy. Lord oh man. Those were the worst biscuits and gravy I had ever had. I don’t know if all Waffle Houses stink at them or what. I only got the biscuits because they were out of waffle mix.

So, these stories may be lame to you, but really writing them here is a way for me to remember this trip for years to come. Yes, it has little do with budgeting and I am terribly sorry about that. I mean I spent around $250 on gas both ways. Hotels were around $90 a night, on average. I really didn’t eat much on the way back because I was sad I had to say goodbye to my husband again, and I tend to lose my appetitie when I’m upset/sad/etc. So I hope you are enjoying this series. It’s pretty much over. The next post can pretty much cover the trip back down, back to Ohio and finally my return to Texas

Leave a Reply

