Moving Across Country Part 1

9e68cacd8372c02c5c7e64f68d55eff13025304316aabfaaeb021549062b63ea

This pretty much sums up how I feel right now.

This has been a really interesting, complicated, not all that smooth experience….and it isn’t even over yet. It has barely started. Mr. Wanderlust is in the military so our move is paid for through that, which is a nice benefit of his job. Currently all of our items are in storage in his parents garage. Again, grateful that we were able to save ourselves that cost over the summer. I have some things at my parents house. A medium size suitcase and a few boxes, worth. I packed all of that up today. Next week I will be visiting my in laws to go through those boxes and pick out stuff that we need to get by for about a month. This is all of the easy stuff. Well, kind of. I hate packing, and now I have to go through everything I already packed to pick out things to repack into different boxes to take with me to the new base.

We do not know when our home goods will be picked up. Hoping to know more about that later next week, ideally after Mr. Wanderlust signs the lease for the house. We are living on base, for ease of Mr. Wanderlust getting to and from work. It’s also nice to be in a community of people that understand what you are going through…or so I have been told. I will be moving down to the new base at the end of next week. It takes me two days to make the drive.

The most stressful part, so far, has been realizing what we got rid of when we moved our of our apartment. We don’t have a vacuum, trash can(s), shower curtain, hangers, cleaning supplies, etc. The list seems to grow the more I think about what we tossed. Our vacuum broke. Our trash can was hated in a very strong way. I now know not to buy a trashcan with a swinging lid since I apparently can’t stand that. it was just time for a new shower curtain. Cleaning supplies sitting in a hot garage or storage unit for the summer made me nervous, and a lot were aerosol so they wouldn’t have been moved anyways. We thought it was a good idea to throw away all of our hangers. We had a ridiculous amount of them and they took up a ton of precious space in the boxes.

I’ve picked up some of the items listed above, with a few other smaller things for the kitchen (new cutting board, dry measuring cups.) Actually, the story behind the dry measuring cups is a pretty good one. I loved these cups, they were good Kitchen Aid brand cups. Nicely weighted, good hand feel…stuff only a baker really cares about. The smaller cups had a tendency to fall into the garbage disposal. Mr. Wanderlust would run the disposal frequently, and over the years, he destroyed a couple of the cups in the disposal. Ah, God love him. Now back to the topic at hand.

Right now, I’m at the packing stage of getting things ready to go. I figure I can give you a few tips to help you save some money on your next move; local or long distance.

  1. You obviously know you need boxes. You can always buy brand new boxes from places like Home Depot, U-Haul or wherever. But, you can get egg boxes from your local grocery as well. Give them a call, or stop by the service center and ask them to hold egg boxes for you. Most grocery stores will do this for you. The only time I ran into this not happening was when I was in college. The competition for boxes was too strong, so they just set them out by the dumpster for first come first serve. Another avenue to explore is contacting local moving companies near you. A lot of those hold boxes from ‘un-pack’ jobs. They are used, and not always in the best condition, but they are free boxes.
  2. Do your research on how to pack delicate items. There are tons of YouTube videos for this. For instance here is video on packing kitchen items, since those tend to be the most delicate items in the household. You can buy packing paper from a local moving company, I believe the 20lb pack I bought cost $20. You can also use newspapers as well. Actually, packing paper is news print without the ink.
  3. Take your time packing our own goods. If you don’t pack neatly and carefully you risk your items breaking. Make sure your boxes are sturdy by topping them off with paper. If your box isn’t packed well, when you stack it your risk the box crushing and being unstable. Makes it harder to stack, in general, and puts your items are risk.
  4. Don’t be afraid to get a quote from a company. Sometimes, mostly depending on distance, the cost can be a wash between a DIY move and company doing the move for you. You would have to weight the cost vs the benefits for your family. For us, I have a severe back injury and it really isn’t worth it to have me execute a move on my own. Minus the fact that it isn’t practical in our current situation.
Leave a Reply

